---
title: Admin Console Backup
slug: edgemanager/admin-console-backup
docTags: 
createdAt: 2023-10-31T15:05:21.555Z
---

:::hint{type="info"}
**Note**: This is available for Litmus Edge Manager version 2.15.0 and later.&#x20;
:::

The *Backup&#x20;*&#x6D;odule allows you to download, upload, and bulk delete Litmus Edge Manager (LEM) application and configuration files. &#x20;

## Overview

The backup process for LEM consists of a compressed and encrypted file downloaded from the LEM Admin UI. The data is updated every 24 hours, and 7 copies of each LEM version are maintained on the server until user deletes them manually.

**Backup Type:** Compressed and encrypted file, available for download from the LEM Admin UI.

**Rotation:** 7 copies of each LEM version.

**Retention Period:** Backup files will remain until user deletes them manually.

LEM backup contain the following files:

**&#x20;1. Application Data**

- Company and project settings
- Activation requests
- Sites (except site icons)
- Triggers and Actions
- Templates
- Marketplace Applications and their associated data and configurations
- Marketplace Catalog (data and configuration)
- Grafana Dashboards and other settings
- Remote access setup
- Licenses (Note: Licenses won't work after restoring on another VM)
- Keycloak
- Registry Credentials
- Certificates
- SMTP Settings
- Tokens

**2. User Data**

- Users and their access to specific projects/companies.

**3. Marketplace Apps**

- All marketplace apps and associated data and configurations.

**4. LE Connected to LEM**

- All Litmus Edge devices connected to the Litmus Edge Manager.

**5. Database Dumps:**

- mysql-grafana.sql
- mysql-keycloak.sql
- mysql-lem.sql
- mysql-mpcs.sql
- mysql-mpcs\_rbac.sql
- mysql-mysql-user.sql

## What Is Not Backed Up

- Old upgrades and backups
- Events
- Docker registry data
- ClickHouse data
- DNS Entries (LEM only lists DNS servers; not backed up to avoid network access issues)
- Network settings

## Process

The following process define the steps required to create and upload a backup file in LEM.&#x20;

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/SSUUxKZUk9bFTEPNn_6Zo/XHYfo8jvqAhjzhQbmfidP_image.png "Backup UI")

:::hint{type="warning"}
**Important**:&#x20;

- Importing a configuration replaces configuration data and cannot be undone. Select the appropriate bundled zip file.&#x20;
- Any node-locked licenses will be removed after restoring a backup on a new virtual machine (VM). You will have to request new node-locked licenses from your Litmus account representative.&#x20;
- Network files are not backed up to avoid breaks on restore.
- As of Litmus Edge Manager 2.24.0 release, LEM Admin UI allows you to create long-term API tokens with scope `LEM Backup`.
:::

| **Action**                       | **Details**                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                |
| -------------------------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ |
| \[1] **Create backup**           | Download a backup file of the Litmus Edge Manager configuration. Configuration files are password protected and generated as a `.tar` file. Process logs are visible in the *Log* section.<br />To export the configuration, you'll need the password of the Litmus Edge Manager instance. |
| \[2] **Upload backup file**      | Upload a Litmus Edge Manager configuration file. To import the configuration, you'll need the password of the Litmus Edge Manager instance.                                                                                                                                                |
| \[3] **Remove selected backups** | This option allows you to bulk delete the selected backup configurations files at once.                                                                                                                                                                                                    |
| \[4] **Show backup/restore log** | View the latest export/Import operation log. You can toggle **Auto-scroll** to the **On&#xA0;**&#x70;osition to automatically scroll down to the most recent messages in *Process Log*. Doing so helps monitor a running export/import process.                                            |
| \[5] **Refresh**                 | Reload the list of backup files.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           |



